Do you have questions about the Houston vehicle registration process? Keep in mind, if you purchase a vehicle from Helfman Alfa Romeo of Sugar Land, you’ll be responsible for registering your vehicle within 30 days of buying it.
What Information Do I Need?
Before registering your vehicle, it must pass a Texas inspection to show that it’s compliant with state law. To do this, take your vehicle to a certified Vehicle Inspection station. They’ll ask to see proof of insurance at the inspection.
You will need the following documents to register your vehicle:
- Proof of insurance
- Proof of ownership
- The passing Vehicle Inspection Report from the inspection station
What Type of Insurance Do I Need?
There are insurance requirements for drivers in the state of Texas. Your minimum insurance coverage must include:
- $30,000 per injured person
- Up to a total of $60,000 for everyone injured in an accident
- $25,000 for property damage
Where Do I Register My Vehicle?
You will need to visit your local country tax assessor collector’s office to register your vehicle.
When Do I Register My Vehicle?
Texas residents are required to register their vehicle with the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV) within 30 days of purchasing it, and then renew their registration every year following as long as they own the vehicle. Your registration renewal will be due the last day of the month on the sticker on your license plate. You’ll also receive a notice to renew in the mail, so make sure that your address is updated.
If you have any other questions about the process, we’re happy to help. Reach out to our team at Helfman Alfa Romeo of Sugar Land with any questions you may have!
Leave a Reply